

include The Lakehead (Thunder Bay), Windsor, Hamilton, Toronto, Oshawa and Belleville, Ont. on the Great Lakes; Winnipeg-St. Boniface, Man. on the Red River-Lake Winnipeg System; Fraser River (New Westminster), North Fraser, Nanaimo, and Port Alberni, BC. The harbour commissions include municipal as well as federal appointees, and are responsible for regular administration, operation and maintenance as well as for close liaison with the Ministry of Transport and with the regional and local interests they serve.

Public harbours. More than 300 public harbours are directly administered by the Canadian Marine Transportation Administration. Harbour masters and wharfingers at these ports are fees-of-office employees appointed by the Minister of Transport. Some of the larger public harbours are Baie Comeau, Que.; Corner Brook and Come By Chance, Nfld.; Sydney and Port Hawkesbury, NS; Sault Ste Marie and Goderich, Ont.; and Victoria, Kitimat and Tasu, BC.

Government wharves. Most of the government wharves for which the Marine Transportation Administration is directly responsible are located within public harbours and are used for commercial traffic including fishing and auto/truck ferries. Some major interprovincial federal ferry terminals are administered by the Canadian Surface Transportation Administration. Provincial governments administer ferry wharves for services of an intraprovincial nature.

The Ministry of Transport is responsible for planning and providing adequate public port facilities to serve commercial interests and to expand or phase out facilities in response to economic growth or changes in traffic patterns resulting from new industries, trends to new types

588